NewJeans Wins 2 Awards & Performs 3 Songs At Japan Record Awards, Boasting ‘Special Treatment’ Before Japan Debut

NewJeans (Minji, Hanni, Danielle, Haerin, and Hyein) won Excellent Work Award and Special Achievement Award at the 65th Japan Record Awards, which was aired live on December 30th.

Excellent Work Award (Song of the Year) is given to the most popular song released in the year, and “Ditto” became the first foreign song to win this award. In fact, NewJeans was also the first foreign artist to get nominated for Daesang in the history of this award, which started in 1959.

Special Achievement Award is awarded to the artist or song that made headlines in the year. This year, NewJeans is the only foreign artist in this category this year. NewJeans received Platinum certifications from the Japan Records Association for three songs “Ditto”, “OMG” and “Hype Boy” within this year alone, and also surpassed 100 million cumulative streams on Oricon.

Through their agency ADOR, NewJeans expressed their feelings, saying “We’re very happy and grateful to receive such a meaningful award and even got a Daesang nomination. There were many memorable performances this year, including the ‘Summer Sonic’. We’ll show you how we’ll work harder and grow. Our Bunnies, thank you so much”.

Aside from the award, NewJeans was also the only Daesang nominee to perform three songs at this awards ceremony. The girl group burned the stage with their overwhelming charms. Wearing uniforms, they brightened up the atmosphere with a lovely stage of “Ditto”, followed by the lively song “ETA” from their second EP “Get Up”, and then heated up the stage with “New Jeans”.

Meanwhile, NewJeans will also attend NHK’s “Kōhaku Uta Gassen”, known as Japan’s biggest year-end song festival, on December 31st as a special guest singer to mark the end of 2023. They will perform a medley of “OMG”, “Ditto” and “ETA”, drawing admiration for their special treatment in Japan.

On the same day, NewJeans will also greet viewers on ABC’s “Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve with Ryan Seacrest 2024”.

Source: Daum

Back to top button