NewJeans Takes Center Stage with 4 Awards, Including Two Daesangs, at the 2023 MAMA AWARDS

NewJeans won two Daesangs at the 2023 MAMA Award

NewJeans leaped beyond the 4th generation to become the representative idol of K-pop at the 2023 MAMA AWARDS, held at the Tokyo Dome in Japan on November 29th hosted by actor Park Bo-gum.

NewJeans was announced the winner in four categories at this year’s MAMA. They won Best Female Group, Best Dance Performance Female Group, and two Daesangs for Song of the Year and Artist of the Year. Among their four awards, half of them are Daesang (grand prizes), setting a remarkable record.

This is not surprising, as NewJeans received much love from the beginning of 2023 when they released ‘Ditto’ on January 2nd. ‘Ditto’ has been popular throughout the year with NewJeans’ unique sophisticated sensibility. 

Following this, the second EP ‘Get Up,’ released on July 21, featuring songs like ‘Super Shy,’ ‘ETA,’ ‘Cool With You,’ ‘New Jeans,’ ‘Get Up,’ and ‘ASAP,’ all ranked high on charts, enjoying success from winter to summer – the seasons of NewJeans.

As NewJeans did not attend the 2023 MAMA AWARDS, actor Ryu Seung-ryong stepped forward as the presenter for the Artist of the Year award and congratulated NewJeans through a video. The finale was marked by SEVENTEEN winning Album of the Year for their album ‘FML.’

Below is the list of winners for 2023 MAMA AWARDS Day 2:

  • Best New Female Artist: TripleS
  • Best New Male Artist: ZEROBASEONE
  • Best Dance Performance Male Group: SEVENTEEN
  • Best Dance Performance Female Solo: Jisoo
  • Favorite Dance Performance Male Group: Treasure
  • Favorite Global Performer Female Group: (G)I-DLE
  • Favorite Global Performer Male Group: ATEEZ
  • Best Vocal Performance Group: AKMU
  • Best Male Group: SEVENTEEN
  • Best Female Group: NewJeans
  • Best Vocal Performance Solo: Park Jae-jung
  • Best Female Artist: Jisoo
  • Best Male Artist: Jimin
  • Best Collaboration: Jungkook
  • Best Dance Performance Female Group: NewJeans
  • Best OST: BTS ‘The Planet’
  • Best Rap & Hip-Hop: Agust D (Suga)
  • Best Music Video: Jisoo ‘Flower’
  • Favorite Dance Performance Female Group: LE SSERAFIM
  • Song of the Year: NewJeans ‘Ditto’
  • Artist of the Year: NewJeans
  • Album of the Year: SEVENTEEN ‘FML’
Back to top button

Discover more from KBIZoom

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading