“Squid Game”, “D.P.” and more to compete in the first-ever “Blue Dragon Series Awards” for OTT dramas held today (July 19) 

Expectations are heating up for the first Blue Dragon Series Awards for OTT platforms’ original shows. 

The 2022 Blue Dragon Series Awards will take place at Incheon Paradise Hotel at 7 pm KST on July 19th. The Blue Dragon Series Awards are dedicated to Korean dramas and entertainment programs produced and invested by Netflix, Disney Plus, Seezn, Apple TV Plus, Watcha, Wavve, Kakao TV, Coupang Play, and TVING.

A total of 54 individual candidates and 10 teams will compete in 13 categories including Best Drama, Best Leading Actor and Actress, Best Supporting Actor and Actress, Best New Actor and Actress, Best Variety Program, Best Male and Female Entertainer, Best New Male and Female Entertainer, and Popular Star Award.

Squid Game”, “D.P.”, “Through The Darkness”, “Yumi’s Cells”, and “Political Fever” were nominated for the Best Drama Award, receiving a lot of attention.

Nominees for Best Actor include “Lee Jung Jae” in “Squid Game”, Jung Hae In in “D.P.”, Lee Je Hoon in “Move To Heaven”, Kim Nam Gil in “Through The Darkness”, and Im Si Wan in “Tracer”. 

For Best Actress, Kim Hye Soo of “Justice Juvenile”, Kim Go Eun of “Yumi’s Cells”, Oh Yeon Seo of “Mad For Each Other”, Kim Sung Ryung of “Political Fever”, and Han Hyo Joo of “Happiness” were nominated. 

Netflix’s global hit “Squid Game” was named as the most nominated work in five categories including Best Drama, Best Actor, Best Supporting Actor, and Best New Actress.

In Addition, in the entertainment category, “SNL Korea” has nominations in four categories: Best Variety Program, Best Male Entertainer, and Best Male and Female New Entertainer. 

In the Best Variety Program award, “Transit Love”, “Seoul Check-in”, “Girls’ High School Mystery Class” and “Play You” will compete with “SNL Korea”.

Who will be crowned the winners at the first-ever Blue Dragon Series Awards? The award ceremony will be broadcast through the U+ channel, mobile TV, YouTube channel “U+TV Emoticons: All TV content in the world”, and Naver NOW.

Source: insight

Back to top button

Discover more from KBIZoom

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading